Skip to content

The Ed Monk Memorial Award

April 14, 2010

The Ed Monk Memorial Award was established to provide educational opportunities for professionals working in traditional maritime trades. The mission of the award is to provide travel expenses that will enable maritime professionals to have first hand experiences in the techniques of other cultures. Applicants are to link with a mentor who they will work with during the grant. Study and research may include current and historical methods; designs based on the functions to be served by the boats; materials available for construction and the state of technology.

Applications are due each year on or before February 15 and decisions will be made on or before April 15. Grants awarded will total no more than $4000. The Fund was established by John Goodfellow in 2000. In 2005 Wooden Boat Publications teamed up and added additional funds.

The recipients of the Ed Monk Award and their projects have been:

2001 – Jay Smith – Traditional Faroe Island boatbuilding
2002 – Seaton Gras – Traditonal boats of Thailand
2003 – Marc Daniels – Tradional Aleut boatbuilding
2004 – Corey Freedman – Traditional Brazilian boatbuilding
2006 – V.W. Swan – Traditional Norwegian boatbuilding
2008 – Douglas Brooks – Traditional Okinawan boatbuilding

For more information about the award, please contact Dick Wagner, or call CWB at 206-382-2628.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: